my yesterday morning; little acts of human kindess…alive & beautiful breathing things!

She is a lovely boisterous joy of sunshine! Always walking her poodle and always a little out breath! She is a restless creature and her laughter infectious! You can’t help but smile and giggle with her when she comes around. I had one such occasion yesterday morning when I walked around my desk to see her opening the foyer door. Her face lit up with a bright smile and I couldn’t help but smile, when she said, “Oh Melissa, good morning!” I asked how she was doing and as always she answered, “I am wonderful!” Yes, she is! She loves the morning hours because it is cooler, and loves to walk around the fish pond! Now as we were talking, her sweet poodle decide to use the concrete sidewalk to lay its business rather than the grass. And kept laying its business again and again.  (Apparently the dog had a really good meal the night before) On the same sidewalk other visitors use to enter the building. 

She apologized, said the she and dog had t-bone steak last night and perhaps it was a little too rich for her dog. She informed me not worry, that she would clean it up and began to clean up the mess. Very quickly I realized that amout of cleaning up was not going to be done with just tissue! Lol…

I went inside and grabbed paper towels and started filling a pitcher full of water… As I was walking back towards the door, she called to me and started asking me if she could have paper towels as she was asking for paper towels, I was holding  out my hand full of paper towels! She couldnt believe it…”How did you know?” She asked!  I just giggled and said I had a feeling it was going to require water and paper towels to clean it up! “Oh thank you so much Melissa!” She kept thanking me. I was glad to help her but also because I knew I couldn’t leave that kind of mess on the sidewalk that vistors use!

So there I was pouring water on the spots that remained and she wiping the sidewalk. We could help but laugh at the situation. It took pitcher after pitcher of water but eventually it was clean enough! I gave her a trash bag for the used paper towels! Oh my what a mess! Yet in the end, it didnt matter the mess. It was one person helping another. And two people helping and receiving help, with a smile and a giggle! 

She appreciated the help. Told me to come see her later she wanted to give me something.  I told her it was just part of my job. She laughed and said, No! Your job is not to pick up my dog’s poop!” I told her it was a jointed effort that benefited both of us…And with that we went back to our day. 

A few hours later with that same smile  but now with magenta color lipstick , she walked into the reception area, handed me a bouquet of flowers and pumpkin macadamia nut cookies.  I was astounded! How long has it been since I’ve been given flowers or anything for that matter? I am so grateful for her precious laugh and smile, and her gift of beautiful flowers…little acts of human kindess are alive and beautiful breathing things!

Leave a Reply

