season of scarves and sweaters…

this unseasonable warmth
dismantles me
it offers no respite from weariness
I want to cleave to cooler air
let it fold me into myself
those moments when in need of comfort
my sweater forms to me 
wrapping my chest 
armor if you will 
my scarf collars my breath
holds back sadness’ release
cradles whatever goodness remains
I crave pleasure in connecting
into sleeves of knitted beauty 
the color black contrast the
palest pinks of my heart
compliments the silvered blue
and rustic chic of my lonely soul
I am evermore
slipping into the severity 
of dark warmth
were I desperately sew the
crevasse of ache 
patching holes of today’s devastation
needing the unreachable
hues of his subtle romance 

Leave a Reply

