So my 14 in history class had to write a poem about the trail of tears…indian removal act of 1838. 

This is her poem… so beautifully stunning!

Bitter Wind By: Madeleine B. 

I am a member of the Cherokee Tribe in 1838

I wonder if the white men see us shed our tears

I hear the scrape of the shovel hit the cold, hard ground

I see shallow, impersonal graves

I am a member of the Cherokee Tribe in 1838

I pretend not to feel the rough wind bite at my face

I feel bitter inside, my hatred grows for these people

I touch the bark of the trees as we pass them,their roughness reminds me of home

I worry for my people as their knees hit the ground

I cry silently at night so only the stars can hear me, so only the dead hear me

I am a member of the Cherokee Tribe in 1838

I understand sorrow, something i have never felt before this moment

I say that i will return home one day

I dream of the peaceful waters as they reflect the glare of the burning sun

I try to block the cold from my sister as her body laid ridged

I hope i will one day see our old ways flourish again

I am a member of the Cherokee Tribe in 1838 

8 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

